The Mondo Vixen Massacre is HERE

Vixens

The Mondo Vixen Massacre by Jamie Grefe

 I published a book and it’s time to promote. If you find yourself clicking through, find yourself in the mood for something funny and crazy and cool, please consider buying a copy of THE MONDO VIXEN MASSACRE. Here’s a note I put on my Amazon author page, a note that explains or opens up the process of how this book came about:

 I wrote this story in October 2012 while living and working in Beijing, China. I was teaching Creative Writing to international students and decided to finally make the leap from writing short stories and poems to something bigger, something more intense and cinematic. It was time. 
 
I grew up watching B-movies, exploitation movies, cheesy flicks–everything–and still return to some of my favorite filmmakers in those times when I just need to experience something timeless and beautiful. I love the work of Jim Wynorski, Russ Meyer, Joe D’Amato, Roger Corman, Claudio Fragasso and others, old and new, cheap or Hollywood slick. As the storyline for this book started to take shape in my mind, I fed myself a steady dose of those B-movies. I took notes. I asked questions. I made flow charts and outlines. And then it hit. I saw poor Tom Clay caught in the middle of the most unrealistic and brutal home invasion imaginable. It was those wicked vixens. I had to write, was compelled to write and thus, the story of “The Mondo Vixen Massacre” took root. I wrote the first draft in two weeks and spent significantly more time editing and refining it. I had a special music playlist to help guide me through the scenes (I’ll share it in the near future) and fell in love with this long-form world I had created. I fell in love with these vixens and cheered when Tom took things to the next level. I hope you’ll cheer, too. 
 
When Eraserhead Press acquired this manuscript for publication in their New Bizarro Author Series, I knew I had done something right. Of course, you, dear reader, will have to be the ultimate judge. You’re the one who completes these words. I wrote this book in order to please myself and to give you the psycho-ride of your life. You don’t have to love B-movies to enjoy this book, but you do have to prepare yourself for buckets of gore and other fluids that don’t come out easy. Maybe there are layers here that cannot be conveyed through the movie medium, subtle layers that only books can achieve, slices of mondo madness that will linger years after you finish this book. Or, maybe you’ll want to wash your hands after giving this story a dip, wipe off all that gore. 
 
I am seriously grateful for your support and hope you spend a few afternoons losing yourself in this fantasy world. Thank you for helping an unknown indie author make his way through the trenches. And always, feel free to reach out and drop a line. Let’s grind.

One thought on “The Mondo Vixen Massacre is HERE

  1. Pingback: NOT OF THIS EARTH | Written in Blood

Leave a Reply

